Warning: It seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. Please enable JavaScript to improve your experience.

Selection Committee

The selection committee is made up of members of the Human Rights Working Group. Its members include:

Remzi Cej

Remzi Cej is Director of the Office of Immigration and Multiculturalism, Department of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour. He has previously worked in various areas of public policy, including justice, demographic, labour market, and environment, and is a past Chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Human Rights Commission.

Mr. Cej has a combination of lived, community, and professional experiences. He is a Rhodes Scholar and holds an MPhil in International Relations from Oxford University and a BA (Honours) from Memorial University in German and French Studies. He is an Action Canada public policy fellow and a Terry Fox Humanitarian Award recipient, as well as a two-time recipient of the YMCA Peace Medal for Human Rights Education. In 2015, Mr. Cej was one of 12 prominent Canadian featured human rights defenders in educational materials by the Speak Truth to Power project of the Robert F. Kennedy Centre for Human Rights, the Canadian Teachers’ Federation, and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami.

^ Top of Page

Dean Gambin

^ Top of Page

Krista Hutchings

Krista Hutchings is a Registered Social Worker, working as a Policy and Program Development Specialist with the Disability Policy Office, in the Department of Children Seniors and Social Development. Krista obtained her BSW in 1991 and her Masters of Clinical Social Work in 2007 from Memorial University. She has completed studies in advanced social work with older adults with a keen interest in anti-oppressive practice and social co-design of policy as best practice. Krista has previously worked in various disability related areas such as Program Coordinator with the Community Supports Services Program within the Eastern Regional Health Authority. She is a past Chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Social Work Ethics Committee.

Krista’s involvement in the disability field is a very personal one to her with lived experience with a non-visible disability, family, community and professional experiences. She is one of the first university graduates in her family. As a lifelong learner, she is currently learning American Sign Language. Krista is proud to say that she has raised two fiercely independent feminist daughters as one of her greatest life accomplishments.

^ Top of Page

Gioia Montevecchi

^ Top of Page

Carey Majid

Carey Majid is the Executive Director of the Human Rights Commission for Newfoundland and Labrador. She holds a Bachelor of Arts (1994) from the University of Waterloo and a Bachelor of Laws (1999) from the University of New Brunswick Law School.

Ms. Majid teaches the Law Society’s bar admission course on human rights and regularly presents on human rights issues to employers, community groups, government agencies and at conferences.

^ Top of Page